memories.

I heard about K for a few months before I met him.  E kept talking about him, a new mentee of his that had a good attitude at their Saturday court mandated events (a rare quality for those having to spend their Saturday mornings doing community service), one that was always ready with a smile, and thoughtful of those around him.  When I finally met K, he was all that E had described, a seventeen-year-old boy with a big heart, open mind, and a ready smile.

K quickly became more like a little brother to the two of us than just E’s mentee, he often was at our house hanging out in the kitchen while I cooked telling me about his day, asking advice on girls, or just munching on whatever I was making.  K would sit in our living room playing video games and absent-mindedly petting our two cats as they would stroll by him.  K was polite, opening doors for the girls, aware of how and when to pitch in to help and a good friend to some of the younger kids that were around.

K had some rough spots in his past and in his present, but he was searching, questioning things, looking to grow and change, and open to talking about them.  E and K would often end up on one of those topics, the points of difficult in K’s life, and K would be open to listening and even ask for E’s thoughts.

One of my fondest memories of K is a thirteen hour day we spent with him.  The day was full of general Saturday activities – running errands, cleaning the house, cooking, but the monotony that most of these tasks can take on became more fun with K along.  We ended the day drinking Vanilla Frappucinos and playing Bananagrams with K and his girlfriend, laughing so hard our bellies ached.

K was killed Thursday night, shot twice in the stomach and once in his head, left alone in an intersection.   E and I got the news early Friday morning.  We sat for hours caught in the strange atmosphere that is shock and grief combined.

Looking into funeral locations was not something I had anticipated doing for K.  Colleges?  Yes.  Job opportunities?  Yes.  But not where to bury him.

E and I went over the funeral home paperwork and the autopsy report with K’s mom last night.

My heart is heavy, my brain fuzzy.  I’m not sure really how to even end this post.  I did want to share with all of you how special K was as a person in general and specifically to us.  Please keep K’s family and in your thoughts and prayers.

2 thoughts on “memories.

  1. Linda Stringham says:

    Thank you so much for sharing this and especially for being “Christ with skin on” to this young man. We’re praying for you.

  2. Kim says:

    Oh Liz, I’m so sorry.

Comments are closed.

